Voter Registration to Begin April 27 – INEC

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has said it will commence a nationwide continuous voter registration on April 27 across the country.

It stated this in a statement signed by the INEC National Commissioner, Mrs. Amina Zakari, after a meeting with Resident Electoral Commissioners and Administrative Secretaries from the 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory.

The exercise is expected to take place from 9 am to 3 pm on weekdays excluding public holidays will take place in the local government offices of the commission or any other suitable locations as would be made public by the state offices of INEC.

Zakari said, “The exercise is intended to enable citizens who have turned 18 years of age since the last registration as well as those who did not register during the last exercise to register as voters.

It will allow those seeking transfer of their registration from one State to another or within a State from polling unit to another to do so.

The exercise also intends to enable the distribution of uncollected Permanent Voter Cards (PVCs) to those who could not collect them before or since the last general elections.

It will also enable citizens who have the Temporary Voter Cards (TVCs) but whose names are on the register to collect their PVCs.’’

Voters who were already registered were advised not to do so again as it is an offence to register more than once.

According to INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, exercise would continue to be a routine exercise once it commenced.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.